Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Wilmington Baseball’s Christian Adorno Named NCBWA First Team All-East Region

Wilmington Baseball’s Christian Adorno Named NCBWA First Team All-East Region

Copyright 2016; Wilmington University. All rights reserved. Photo taken by Joseph Craig.

NEWARK, Del. - - Junior shortstop Christian Adorno has once again been named to the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association All-East Region, this year earning a spot on the First Team, as voted on by the region's sports information directors.

The shortstop led the Wildcats offensively, hitting a team high .323, collecting a team high 25 walks, and getting on base at a team high .425 clip. His 25 stolen bases rank second in the Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference while his on-base percentage ranks eighth in the conference.

Adorno (Millville, N.J./St. Augustine Prep) played 45 out of 46 games as a junior, making all 45 starts at shortstop. The smooth fielding shortstop recorded 128 assists and 85 putouts on 222 chances on the year, making only nine errors for a .959 fielding percentage. He ranked fourth in the CACC in assists this season.

The junior had a season high four hits on April 21 against Philadelphia, going 4-for-4 with three RBI and two runs scored in the game two win. He also had two games with three hits, first on April 13 at Bloomfield, going 3-for-4 with a triple, an RBI, and two runs scored. He most recently collected three hits on May 3, going 3-for-3 with a run scored in game one.

Adorno was named Second Team NCBWA and ABCA All-East Region as a sophomore, also making his way onto the Honorable Mention NCBWA All-American Team last season. He is a two-time First Team All-CACC performer.


2016 NCBWA All-East Region First Team

C – Matt Kleinstein, Felician University
1B – Angelo Navetta, Molloy College
2B – Fernando Garza, Philadelphia University
SS – Christian Adorno, Wilmington University
3B – Jay Jab, Franklin Pierce University
OF – Carson Helms, Southern New Hampshire University
OF – Andrew LaMura, Felician University
OF – John Kukura, Pace University
DH – Alnaydo Rodriguez, University of Bridgeport
Utility – Mike Gulino, Pace University
SP – Matt Blandino, Felician University
SP – Matt Kostalos, St. Thomas Aquinas College
SP – Tim Viehoff, Southern New Hampshire University
RP – Tanner Bird, Franklin Pierce University

2016 NCBWA East Region Player of the Year: Jay Jabs, Franklin Pierce
2016 NCBWA East Region Pitcher of the Year: Tim Viehoff, Southern New Hampshire
2016 NCBWA East Region Coach of the Year: Scott Loiseau, Southern New Hampshire