Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

NCAA Announces Field of 80 Teams for 2017 NCAA Division II Super Regional Tournaments; Wilmington Golf No. 4 in East

Copyright 2017; Wilmington University. All rights reserved.
Copyright 2017; Wilmington University. All rights reserved.

DANIELS, W.Va. - - The NCAA has announced the field of 80 teams and 32 student-athletes competing as individuals that have been selected to participate in regional competition of the 2017 NCAA Division II Men's Golf Championships. The Wilmington University golf team was selected as the fourth seed in the Atlantic/East Super Regionals hosted by the Mountain East Conference at The Resort at Glade Springs in Daniels, West Virginia.

The three-round, three-day tournament will begin on Monday, May 8 at the 7,114 yard, 72-par Cobb Course. The field will repair following the second round of play for the third and final round. It was their seventh consecutive CACC Tournament Championship.

The Wildcats, coming off a six-stroke, come-from-behind victory in the Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference Tournament last week, will tee-off on Monday, May 8 at 12:50 p.m. They will be paired with the Atlantic's No. 4 seed (Charleston) and the Atlantic's No. 5 seed (Indiana (Pa.)) for the first two rounds.

To advance to their sixth NCAA Division II National Tournament in seven years, the Wildcats will need to be one of the top four teams at the end of the NCAA Division II Atlantic/East Super Regional.


2017 NCAA Division II Atlantic/East Super Regional
The Resort at Glade Springs, Daniels, W.Va.; Host: Mountain East Conference

Atlantic Region:
1. West Liberty
2. Mercyhurst
3. California (Pa.)
4. Charleston
5. Indiana (Pa.) (PSAC Champion)
6. West Chester
7. Millersville
8. Shepherd
9. Chowan (CIAA Champion)
10. Virginia at Wise (Mountain East Champion)

1. Matt Barto, Gannon
2. Sean Edgar, Clarion
3. Allan Day, Virginia Union
4. Daegan Wall, Gannon

East Region:
1. St. Thomas Aquinas
2. Le Moyne (NE10 Champion)
3. Southern New Hampshire
4. Wilmington (CACC Champion)
5. Concordia
6. Dominican
7. Bentley
8. Roberts Wesleyan
9. Saint Rose
10. Franklin Pierce

1. Elliot Wakefield, Nyack
2. Stephen Hunt, Saint Anselm
3. Nick Kelapire, Adephi
4. Tom Holmes, Nyack