Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Matthew Kettleson and Arvy Shongwe Named to 2019 CACC Men’s Golf All-Academic Team

Matthew Kettleson and Arvy Shongwe Named to 2019 CACC Men’s Golf All-Academic Team

Press release courtesy of Doug DeBiase of the CACC.

NEW HAVEN, Conn. - - Eight honorees on Wednesday were named to the 2019 Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference (CACC) Men's Golf All-Academic Team, as announced by Commissioner Dan Mara. The eight honorees represented five of the nine schools that compete in the sport at the varsity level.

Felician University, University of the Sciences and Wilmington University each led the way with two honorees apiece. Six of the eight honorees competed in the recently completed CACC Men's Golf Championship, which was held from Oct. 6-8, at White Beeches Country Club in Haworth, N.J.

The Wildcats were led by two-time honoree Matthew Kettleson, as he is carrying a 3.63 GPA while studying sports management. He is joined this year by senior classmate Arvy Shongwe who is carrying a 3.70 cumulative GPA while studying business management.

Jefferson's Nick Franchi, who earned the Top XVI Award at the CACC Championship for having the highest cumulative grade point average at the final's site, also had the highest GPA on the All-Academic Team with a mark of 3.96 in his major of law & society. Felician's Gonzalo Maldonado Felices was the other golfer on the list to post a GPA of 3.90 or higher, as he had a 3.9 mark in his studies of marketing.

Five of the eight were named to the All-Academic Team for at least the second time in their respective careers. Post University's Ben McKenna was the only three-time honoree, as he made it with a 3.53 in his major of criminal justice.

To be eligible for the All-Academic Team, a student-athletes must meet the following criteria: a) minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5 at the end of the immediate preceding term; b) minimum of two semesters enrolled as full-time student at member institution; c) student-athlete must be second year student-athlete at member institution; and d) student-athlete must have been athletically eligible the season preceding the award and used a season of eligibility.