Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Wildcats Slotted Third in 2019 CACC Men’s Lacrosse Preseason Coaches Poll

Copyright 2019; Wilmington University. All rights reserved. Graphic created by Katlynne Tubo.
Copyright 2019; Wilmington University. All rights reserved. Graphic created by Katlynne Tubo.

Press Release Written by Sports Information Graduate Intern MaryKate Rumbaugh

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – Following its first official season, the Wilmington University men's lacrosse team earned 22 points for the third place spot in the 2019 Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference Men's Lacrosse Preseason Coaches Poll.

The Wildcats are coming off a 4-9 overall record with a 2-3 record in the conference. In their inaugural season, the men clinched the fourth and final spot to advance to the CACC Tournament, where they fell in the semifinal to Georgian Court.

Clinching the first CACC men's lacrosse Championship last season, Georgian Court was allotted four first place votes for a total of 34 points for the top spot. CACC Runner-Up Chestnut Hill would clinch the second place spot with the final two first place voted and 30 total points, as WilmU rounded out the top three with 22 points.

Dominican and Post would tie for the fourth spot in the coaches' poll with 16 points each, as Felician would round out the sixth and final spot with eight total points.

The Wildcats return four All-CACC members, including senior defender Kyle Leary, senior attack Dylan McCleaft, senior midfielder Chris Smith, and sophomore goalkeeper Noah Given.

The goal is to be one of the top four teams in the CACC at the end of the regular season to clinch a spot in the CACC Tournament. This year's Championship will be held at Georgian Court University in Lakewood, N.J. starting Thursday, May 2 with the semifinal round, followed by the Championship game on Saturday, May 4.



1. Georgian Court University 34 (4)
2. Chestnut Hill College 30 (2)
3. Wilmington University 22
T4. Dominican College 16
T4. Post University 16
6. Felician University 8

() - First-Place Votes