Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Four Wildcats Earn Spot on 2019 D2CCA Softball East Region Teams

Four Wildcats Earn Spot on 2019 D2CCA Softball East Region Teams

NEWARK, Del. – As they head into the NCAA Division II East 2 Regional Tournament, the Wilmington University softball team earned four student-athletes to the 2019 Division II CCA Softball All-East Region Teams, voted on by the region's sports information directors.

Junior Rosa'Lynn Burton along with sophomores Lauren Lopez and Makayla McCarthy were named to the 2019 Division II Conference Commissioners Association Softball East Region First Team, as senior Caitlyn Whiteside was named Second Team.

Burton adds to her honors her junior year, as she earned the First Team honors for the third straight year. The left fielder from Dover, Delaware already broke the programs career hits record earlier this season, while breaking her own stolen-bases record in a season. She leads the East Region with a batting average of .521, while also leading the way in stolen bases with 60. She leads the Region with 88 hits, including five doubles, five triples, and one homerun. She tops the on-base percentage category as well in the Region, with a .547 obp. Her batting average ranks fourth overall in all of NCAA Division II, while her 60-60 stolen bases leads all NCAA Division II teams. She also earned CACC Player of the Year and First Team All-CACC.

Sophomore Lauren Lopez earned the CCA Softball East Region First Team honors for the first time in her career. She also leads the Region with 60 RBI on the season, while sitting third with 17 doubles. On the season, she has 66 hits, with a .523 slugging percentage and a .392 on base percentage. The third baseman also broke the single-game program record with eight RBI against Holy Family earlier this season. Her 60 RBI this season ranks her tied for 11th overall in all NCAA Division II. She was also named All-CACC First Team.

This is also Makayla McCarthy's second consecutive year earing the CCA Softball East Region honors, but her first year earning First Team. McCarthy was second in the CACC with 18 wins. She helped WilmU to a 18-5 record so far in 133.0 IP, while allowing 104 hits, 41 earned runs, and 45 walks with 127 strikeouts. The utility pitcher is fifth in the CACC with a 2.16 ERA, and has a .318 batting average to go along with 35 hits, including six doubles, one triple, and two homeruns for 29 RBI. In the circle, she has nine shutouts and 18 complete games in her 28 appearances. She also earned First Team All-CACC.

Senior Caitlyn Whiteside earns the Second Team honor for the second time in her career, as she heads to the NCAA East Regional Tournament for the third time in her career. She is tied for third in the East Region with 20 wins on the season, while ranking third in the CACC with a 2.04 ERA. In the circle, she has allowed 169 hits, 60 earned runs, and 44 walks, while striking out 106 batters. In her 34 appearances, she as 22 complete games, to go along with seven shutouts. She also earned CACC Pitcher of the Year and All-CACC First Team.

LIU Post's Julia Seader earned the 2019 Division II CCA Softball East Region Player of the Year, while St. Anselm's Morgan Perry was named the 2019 D2CCA Softball East Region Pitcher of the Year.

The First Team honorees are automatically nominated for the D2CCA All-American voting process. The 2019 D2CCA Softball All-American Teams will be announced on Wednesday, May 22.


2019 Division II CCA Softball All-East Region Teams

First Team:
C – Julia Seader – LIU Post
1B – Marissa Trezza – Georgian Court University
2B – Emily Whitman – Adelphi University
3B – Lauren Lopez - Wilmington University
SS – Nora Conway – Caldwell University
OF – Rosa'Lynn Burton - Wilmington University
OF – Shannon Colson – Saint Anselm College
OF – Astasia Myler – The College of Saint Rose
DP – Kaileen Cain – Caldwell University
P – Morgan Perry – St. Anselm College
P – Maddy Barone – Southern New Hampshire University
P – Hannah Olshevski – LIU Post
UTIL – Hannah Mueller – Mercy College
UTIL (Pitcher) – Makayla McCarthy – Wilmington University

Second Team:
C – Erin Garczynski – Southern New Hampshire University
1B – Hanna Finkelstein – LIU Post
2B – Samantha Salomon – Georgian Court University
3B – Samantha Sabor – University of Bridgeport
SS – Allison Luzzi – University of Bridgeport
OF – Kaira Ramon – University of Bridgeport
OF – Megan Sneeden – LIU Post
OF – Caitlin Hughes – Georgian Court University
DP – Peyton Bellrose – Le Moyne College
P – Caitlyn Whiteside - Wilmington University
P – Katie Humhej – LIU Post
P – Ally Muller – Adelphi University
UTIL – Mya Case – University of New Haven
UTIL (Pitcher) – Courtney Greene – Molloy College

2019 D2CCA Softball East Region Player of the Year:
Julia Seader – LIU Post

2019 D2CCA Softball East Region Pitcher of the Year:
Morgan Perry – Saint Anselm College