Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Four Wildcats Named to 2020 CACC Softball All-Academic Team

Four Wildcats Named to 2020 CACC Softball All-Academic Team

NEW HAVEN, Conn. - - The Wilmington University softball team placed four student-athletes on the 2020 Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference Softball All-Academic Team on Tuesday, as announced by the conference commissioner Dan Mara.

Overall, the sport placed 72 student-athletes on the All-Academic Team, with all 14 CACC programs represented.

To be eligible for the All-Academic Team, a student-athletes must meet the following criteria: a) minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5 at the end of the immediate preceding term; b) minimum of two semesters enrolled as full-time student at member institution; c) student-athlete must be second year student-athlete at member institution. Requirements for eligibility for the all-academic teams were slightly altered this spring only, as the 2020 spring season was canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The Wildcats were anchored by three-time honoree Annie Davila, as the business management senior is carrying a 3.62 cumulative GPA. She is joined by first year honorees and fellow seniors Alexis Sann (3.84 GPA) and Alyssa Velasquez (3.50 GPA), both majoring in health sciences. Junior Lauren Lopez also made the cut with a 3.51 cumulative GPA while studying criminal justice.

Goldey-Beacom College's Dianna Gatto led all of the honorees with a perfect 4.00 cumulative grade point average in her major of marketing. Thirteen (13) more student-athletes posted GPAs of 3.90-3.99, including Post University's Brianna Rotunno and her mark of 3.99.

Twenty-nine (29) of the 72 standouts were named to the 2020 CACC Softball All-Academic Team for at least the second time in their respective career, including 14 who made it for a third time.

University of the Sciences led the way with 13 honorees on the unit, while Post followed up with 10 student-athletes to make the academic squad.

Click here to see the full 2020 CACC All-Aacademic Team.